Microsoft Planner: I was in First Release Preview–How do I migrate?

I’ve had this question from folks who were signed up for First Release of Office 365 Planner Preview with a promo code, ,and they want to understand the migration path once the preview ends.  The general answer is there is nothing you need to do – all your plans and tasks will still be there after General Availability (GA) of Microsoft Planner.  There is an assumption here – that you have a paid subscription to one of the following:

  • Office 365 Enterprise (E1, E3, E4, and E5),
  • Office 365 Education (E1, E3, E4, and E5),
  • Office 365 Business Essentials,
  • Office 365 Business Premium

The question can be prompted by an e-mail warning of expiry of the preview which talks of disabling the preview and deleting your data – THIS WILL NOT HAPPEN – as long as you have a paid subscription.  If you don’t have a subscription – then the data will be deleted, but you can pull it all out first using the Graph API.

Look out for a message center posting that also gives this information – and don’t panic if you do see the e-mail.  The early promo codes will be expiring fairly soon – so some of you may already be seeing e-mails – if you signed up more recently then it could be a few months.  Just as a reminder you will get a license assigned automatically at GA – and the license screen for users will look something like this – if you had the preview too.

image

To administer licenses with PowerShell see my recent blog post – Microsoft Planner–a few common support answers